Proposal to split Honiton and Tiverton constituency

  Posted: 08.06.21 at 07:41 by Francesca Evans

us on Facebook

The Honiton and Tiverton constituency, which includes Axminster, could be split in changes proposed by the Boundary Commission for England.

The existing constituency is currently represented in parliament by Conservative MP Neil Parish. The proposals would see it split into separate Honiton and Tiverton & Minehead constituencies.

The new Honiton constituency would include Honiton, Cullompton, Axminster and Seaton, as well as Sidmouth and Ottery which would be moved from the current East Devon constituency, represented by Conservative Simon Jupp MP.

A new Exmouth constituency would replace the remainder of the current East Devon constituency.

Tiverton would be combined with the current Bridgewater and West Somerset constituency, represented by Conservative Ian Liddell-Grainger MP, to create the new Tiverton and Minehead constituency.

The Boundary Commission’s current review will conclude with a formal report and recommendations in June 2023, which are likely to be implemented.

The aim is to make parliament fairer by giving each MP a roughly similar number of voters.

Scotland and Wales will see the number of MPs cut, while England gains 10 seats overall.

The proposals are currently under public consultation until August 2. Maps and details on how to submit a response are available at

Like this article? Sign up to our weekly newsletter...

Next Axminster news item...

BUSINESS OF THE WEEK: Creative Solutions

The Axminster Nub News List provides a directory of local businesses - covering everything from s...